Talking women’s leadership in the student movement

Yesterday I had the privilege of joining 130 other women at NUS UK’s first women in leadership conference. It was amazing. I’m still processing it, but already I can see the difference it is going to make personally and to both my professional hats – research student and feminist activist.

Personally, as I’ve said before, it is always refreshing to spend time with other women committed to changing the world.

As a doctoral student my research is about young women’s leadership in social change organisations and so I’m invigorated by the stories of action and the possibilities for collaboration. I’m looking forward to further conversations with the NUS UK to see how I can help.

And as a activist who started the week wondering whether I had the balance right between practice and reflection, it was the icing on the cake in a week where there has been rewarding movement on a bunch of projects I’ve been chipping away at over the last year.

So having started the week on a bit of a low, I end on quite a high. Excited to enact the plans made on the way home with Emily and Rachel, the female full-time officers of at Lancaster University Student Union, and ever more determined to see my research work find practical outlets.

And, in the spirit of Thanksgiving – I note my thanks to the conference organisers, the inspiring speakers and talented facilitators; my student union for giving me the opportunity to go to the conference; and the amazing student and women’s movements who have been, and remain such an important part of my life, and do such inspiring work.

Leave a Reply

